BSBD Header

BSBD Header

Thursday, June 27, 2019

Honeymoon with Death by Vivian Conroy


Honeymoon with Death
(Murder Will Follow Book 2)

Kindle Edition, 245 pages
Published June 24th 2019 by Canelo



Goodreads synopsis:
Suspenseful to the last page, HONEYMOON WITH DEATH is perfect for fans of Agatha Christie’s Sleeping Murder and Evil Under The Sun

After a whirlwind romance and dream wedding, the new Mrs Ramsforth is whisked away to an idyllic Greek island by her adoring husband. But as soon as they arrive at their luxurious hotel overlooking the azure sea, Damaris is struck by the feeling she’s been here before...
Puzzling over the familiarity, Damaris’ honeymoon goes from unsettling to a complete nightmare when she finds herself standing over a dead body, unable to explain how she got there.

Now only one man can save her - fellow holidaymaker and former Scotland Yard inspector Jasper. But even he starts to doubt Damaris' innocence when he discovers that it's not her first time embroiled in a murder case...



***

3.5 Stars

This is the second book in the Murder Will Follow series.

To me this book is an Inspector Jasper mystery because it was all about him. In the beginning it seemed like Mrs Ramsforth would be the main character but quickly we realize that although she is in the forefront of the story, Jasper is the one who holds our attention.

The mystery and all the elements of the mystery in this were top notch. It is probably the most complex mystery I have seen in a long time… worthy of Columbo and Hercule Poirot. And every thread was figured out in the end and revealed. You don’t always see that with a cozy mystery.

The main problem I had with this book were all the jumps in logic that kept happening. We weren’t following along as Jasper figured it all out. Jasper would come upon clues and just suddenly seem to know and figure out how it was all connected. I would have liked to see his process more. I needed less internal dialogue from all the secondary character and more sleuthing and discovering clues so we could enjoy figuring it out along with Jasper.

Good mystery but not great follow through. I will definitely pick up another Inspector Jasper mystery. He was my favorite part of this.


I received this as an ARC (Advanced Reader Copy) in return for an honest review. I thank NetGalley, the publisher and the author for allowing me to read this title.

No comments:

Post a Comment