BSBD Header

BSBD Header

Friday, July 19, 2019

Accidental Lies (Accidental Love #2) by Dana Mason


Accidental Lies

Kindle Edition, 295 pages
Expected publication: August 7th 2019 by Bookouture



Goodreads synopsis:
It was only meant to be a vacation fling… 

Three blissful weeks on the beautiful island of Maui are exactly what I need… Hula dancers, Mai Tais with cocktail umbrellas, and golden beaches – what more could I want? 

Then I see her, and I realize she’s exactly what I want. 

She was locked outside of her hotel room, all buttoned-up in a suit definitely not appropriate for a vacation, and wearing a fierce take-no-shit stance. But I couldn’t help noticing the pain behind her eyes… 

Four Mai Tais later, the chemistry between us is hotter than the Hawaiian sun, and we decide to spend the rest of our vacation unwinding, undressing, and getting to know each other a little better… 

We have just two rules: 
1) No talking about our lives outside Maui. 
2) This is just a vacation fling. 

That means I can’t tell her about the heartbreak that haunts me, and the secret I have back home. It means I can’t ask her about the sorrow in her eyes, and why she has such a wall up – a wall I’m determined to bring crashing down. 

When the sun sets on our trip, can I say goodbye to this gorgeous blue-eyed beauty? Or am I going to be tempted to break the rules? 

And if I do decide to be a rule-breaker, will she even want me when she finds out who I really am? 

This is a full-length, standalone romance with some hot-under-the-collar action, no cheating and a guaranteed HEA. For fans of R.S Grey, Whitney G. and Vi Keeland, Accidental Lies features a hot AF alpha and a sizzling will-they-wont-they love story that will have you totally addicted! 

***

5 Stars

This is the second book in the Accidental Love series by Dana Mason.

Basic premise: Emily’s brother, Mac, forces her to take a week vacation in Maui. While she is there they suggest she should have a casual fling with no strings attached. She meets Drew and the two hit it off famously. He is already nearing the end of his three week annual vacation and when he goes home neither knows how to contact the other. They are each lost in their own way once they are without the other. But surprisingly, they meet a week after Emily returns to Sacramento as Drew comes in as the contractor to fix the Victorian home they are using as an office space. 

When both are back on somewhat solid ground, Emily quickly realizes she is pregnant. And the drama only increases from there. Add into the mix that Drew has two kids he didn’t tell her about and the fallout is going to be catastrophic.

I spent this whole book yelling at the characters to just freaking talk to each other. There was a gaggle of misunderstandings littered throughout this book. They wanted to remain somewhat anonymous which is why they had the rules: It is only a fling. And no talking about their lives back home. This, of course, throws them into so much hot water I am surprised they both didn’t get scalded.

Reader warning: You might get a bit of emotional stress reading this book since you tend to become uber invested in their relationship. Be prepared to start rooting for them to become a couple at the end. I know I did. I wanted this to work out. I was a cheerleader. The author did have me worried a number of times as to whether that would happen or not. But that is what authors do, they torment us. The make us read faster and harder.

I was completely absorbed in this book and was a bit sad when I had to let it go at the end. There is a first book in this series which features Emily’s brother Mackenzie and his wife.  I knew when I finished this, I had to web surf my way on Amazon to purchase that title. I am hooked. This is a new author for me and I was not disappointed.


I received this as an ARC (Advanced Reader Copy) in return for an honest review. I thank NetGalley, the publisher and the author for allowing me to read this title.

1 comment: