BSBD Header

BSBD Header

Tuesday, September 3, 2019

Her Rough Ride (Red Dragon MC Series #2) by Heather Van Fleet


Her Rough Ride

Kindle Edition, 326 pages
Published September 2nd 2019 by Bookouture



Goodreads synopsis:
My name was Sebastian. But now they call me Slade. I’ve reinvented myself, become a man, been sworn into the Red Dragon MC. I’ve got tattooed and ripped to hell, I’ve cut my hair and my face now bears the scars of all the fights I’ve seen. The last thing I need is to face her again… 

It’s been eight years since Maya ran away from the club. Sweet, beautiful Maya. My first love. 

Why do I have to ride halfway across the country to pick her up? Because the club is at war, she’s the niece of our President and I’m the only brother who can be trusted to protect her. 

She broke my heart, but I still want her. Do I ever. This woman is my goddess. She’s also my curse. 

I need to focus on getting her home. But as soon as our eyes lock, she’s looking at me all kinds of ways. Like I’m the sexiest, most perfect stranger she’s ever seen. 

And then I realize, I look completely different to the boy she once knew and she doesn’t even recognize me. I could tell her who I am. Or I could have a little fun with her first… 

This sexy second novel in the Red Dragon MC series can also be read as a standalone. Fans of Kristen Ashley, Joanna Wylde and Madeline Sheehan will love the heart-stopping tension. Guaranteed HEA, no cliffhangers and no cheating.

***

4.5 Stars

This is the second book in the Red Dragon Motorcycle Club series by Heather Van Fleet.

This book has angst written all over it. Both of the characters are screwed up in their own ways. All their flaws and the tension between them is what makes this book so sweet and keeps you reading until the end. You know they deserve a break. And you spend the book wondering how long it is going to take them to wake up.

Sebastian used to be her Story Boy. He was where she went when she needed comfort from her nightmares. They each caused the other to pull away. Maya ran away to California and Sebastian became more hardened and transformed himself into Slade. There is a lot of misunderstandings here. I am wondering if Slade would have been a Red Dragon if he hadn’t been around the group growing up. I wish more for him than what he got here. Did he get the girl? Sure. It’s what we expect, isn’t it? But is that all he can ask for in life?

I wonder how you get paid working so diligently for a motorcycle club. It became Sebastian’s entire life after Maya ran away. Flick is in charge. He is Maya’s uncle. He forces her to come home which I thought was the stupidest move possible especially with a huge winter storm system approaching and the possibility of them being attacked by a rival MC club. Not to mention that Maya’s father was the head of another MC and they called him Satan. If she was so in danger in California from just the threat of him, why did they ever let her leave in the first place. Some of the motivations are questionable here. It is obvious that Flick isn’t long for being the head of the Red Dragons. His decisions domt’ seem to line up with their whole world view.

I was hooked the moment Maya made Slade strip in the hallway outside of her California apartment. This girl had guts in excess. The road trip made them more open to each other. I have heard that driving in a darkened car makes it much easier to open up to someone since you are not looking directly at them. They sure worked through a lot of things between California and Illinois.

Great book. It is my first Heather Van Fleet title. I will definitely be picking up more books by this author. Slam dunk!


I received this as an ARC (Advanced Reader Copy) in return for an honest review. I thank NetGalley, the publisher and the author for allowing me to read this title.

No comments:

Post a Comment