BSBD Header

BSBD Header

Thursday, October 29, 2020

Murder on the Dance Floor (A Miss Underhay Mystery #4) by Helena Dixon

Murder on the Dance Floor

(A Miss Underhay Mystery #4)

by Helena Dixon


Kindle Edition, 267 pages

Published October 28th 2020 by Bookouture




Goodreads synopsis: 

Kitty Underhay’s dance card is full… of death.


November 1933. Amateur sleuth-cum-dutiful granddaughter Kitty Underhay stifles a sigh of boredom as she attends the annual Hoteliers' Association Dinner and Dance on behalf of her grandmother, the proprietress of the Dolphin Hotel. She hopes the company of ex-army captain Matthew Bryant will enliven the otherwise dull evening. That is, until bullish and overbearing local councillor Harold Everton drops dead into his bowl of consommé.


While the local police are still scrambling for their whistles, Kitty and Matt waste no time leaping into action. Soon they find themselves caught up a dangerous search to uncover who amongst the distinguished guests used cyanide for seasoning?


When their digging throws light on a corruption scandal brewing in the local council involving Everton’s assistant Thomas King, they are sure they’ve cracked the case. But before he can be questioned further, King’s body is found in a smouldering car wreck. Meanwhile, the murderer has made a sinister plan to avoid detection or punishment, and it will lead Kitty and Matt into a dangerous dance with death…



A fast, fun and utterly unputdownable Golden Age cozy murder mystery, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie, T E Kinsey and Lee Strauss.


***


4.5 stars


This is the fourth book in the A Miss Underhay mystery series by Helena Dixon.


This book reads like it is set in the twentieth century. My meaning by that is that it is a very easy book to navigate and get through. Sometimes historicals set in this century are hard to muddle through. There are the normal 30’s aspects of the text that bring you into the setting that surprise you and make you read on.


Kitty Underhay and Captain Matt Bryant are drawn into a mystery while at a dinner party when the host is poisoned with cyanide. They leap to action and discover a controversy at the local level of government.


This is definitely a fun historical mystery to follow. I always enjoy seeing what Miss Underhay is up to today. 


If you love a good historical cozy mystery, definitely check this one out.


I received this as an ARC (Advanced Reader Copy) in return for an honest review. I thank NetGalley, the publisher and the author for allowing me to read this title.

No comments:

Post a Comment