BSBD Header

BSBD Header

Friday, February 19, 2021

A Deadly Chapter (Castle Bookshop Mystery #3) by Essie Lang

 


A Deadly Chapter

(Castle Bookshop Mystery #3)

by Essie Lang


Hardcover

Expected publication: March 9th 2021 by Crooked Lane Books





Goodreads synopsis: 

Thousand Islands bookseller Shelby Cox is caught between a lethal rock and a hardheaded newcomer in Essie Lang's third Castle Bookshop mystery, a must-read for fans of Lorna Barrett and Vicki Delany.


Wake up on a houseboat, moored in scenic Alexandria Bay, New York. Ride the gentle waves to work at quaint Bayside Books, where you spend your days supplying literature and conversation to the charming locals and seasonal tourists. Sounds pleasant, doesn't it? Except bookseller Shelby Cox has already sleuthed two murders from Bayside Books's home base on Blye Island, one of New York State's famed Thousand Islands. And this time, mayhem knocks right on Shelby's waterside door when she finds a body lodged between the side of her houseboat and the dock, his skull shattered.


The victim is no local, but Shelby can't shake the feeling she's seen him before. Twice, in fact--that's how many times he's dropped into Bayside Books asking about an enigmatic woman who lived on Blye Island many years before. The last time? The day before he was found. But the poor man obviously was killed elsewhere, so who brought him down to the bay, and why?


When the victim's daughter hits town demanding answers, Shelby takes the case, despite Police Chief Tekla Stone's usual reservations. But she uncovers more suspects than there are pages in War and Peace, and Shelby can expect no peace--except the peace of the grave--unless she can turn the page on this grisly mystery.


***


4.5 stars


This is the third book in the Castle Bookshop mystery series by Essie Lang.


This mystery was quite convoluted but it really works. I wish there was more bookish things in this bookstore mystery but beggars can’t be choosers. And the cast seemed a bit tilted to the female side. Not just female but older females. I understand theme books but this seemed a bit much to me. Minor characters threatened to take this over at times.


Overall it is a good read. I love the castle setting and the mystery itself was my favorite part, I think. Definitely will check out other books in this series.


If you like cozy mysteries, definitely check this one out. You won’t be disappointed.


I received this as an ARC (Advanced Reader Copy) in return for an honest review. I thank NetGalley, the publisher and the author for allowing me to read this title.

No comments:

Post a Comment