BSBD Header

BSBD Header

Friday, June 25, 2021

Murder at Elm House (Miss Underhay #6) by Helena Dixon

 

Murder at Elm House

(Miss Underhay #6)

by Helena Dixon


Kindle Edition, 234 pages

Published June 7th 2021 by Bookouture



Synopsis:

Kitty Underhay feels the touch… of death.


1934. Accidental amateur sleuth Kitty Underhay is being escorted by ex-army captain Matthew Bryant on an errand of mercy, as she takes a basket of grapes to her nemesis Mrs Craven, who is recuperating from a recent operation. But their arrival at Elm House Nursing Home coincides with the mysterious death of Lady Wellings, a long-term resident.


The woman was known to be ill, so when the police turn a disinterested ear to Mrs Craven’s suspicion that Lady Wellings was poisoned, Kitty decides to look into the case herself. And when another invalid, the gentle Mrs Pearson, collapses fatally in the breakfast room, it seems her suspicions are well-founded. For an institution promising health and rejuvenation, there seems to be a very low survival rate amongst the guests!


When the nurse Eloise Hibbert hints at sinister goings on among the staff, Kitty arranges to meet her away from the home to uncover how deep the treachery lies. However, before she can make the rendezvous, Eloise meets an unfortunate end falling from the top of the building. Was she pushed by the hand of fate, or a cold-blooded killer?


Meanwhile, Matt has been following an entirely different trail of evidence, and what he finds out chills him to the bone. When Kitty fails to return from her unsuccessful meeting, it is clear she has stumbled onto a plot far more devious than they could have imagined, and into a trap laid by an unscrupulous killer…


An utterly sensational and addictive Golden Age murder mystery. Perfect for fans of Agatha Christie, T.E. Kinsey and Lee Strauss. 


***


4.5 Stars


This is the sixth book in the Miss Underhay series by Helena Dixon.


All the action in this new Kitty Underhay book centers around some hinky stuff occurring at a nursing home and Kitty gets targeted as a result of her innocent snooping. This book was fun and sweet just like all the books in this series are. In fact there are some interesting scenes where Kitty gets driving lessons in order to be more independent and not have all the males around her chauffeur her around everywhere. Kitty just took it all in stride even when she has an unfortunate accident that sends her new shiny red car into the shop.


Lots of exciting aspects of this book give the plot a jolt of fun. The mystery is spot on and the relationships are what make this book so good. Just an exciting read which once again is a winner in my book.


One little niggle, though. I was hoping for more of a connection between Kitty and Matt but I almost felt like they lost some ground with each other in some way. They get along well but I didn’t feel like their relationship moved forward. Other than that, it is great stuff.


If you love a good historical cozy mystery, definitely check this one out. Great new must read series for sure!


I received this as an ARC (Advanced Reader Copy) in return for an honest review. I thank NetGalley, the publisher and the author for allowing me to read this title. Opinions are completely my own.

No comments:

Post a Comment