BSBD Header

BSBD Header

Friday, March 22, 2019

BOOK REVIEW: New Starts and Cherry Tarts at the Cosy Kettle by Liz Eeles



New Starts and Cherry Tarts at the Cosy Kettle
by Liz Eeles (Goodreads Author)

Kindle Edition, 284 pages
Published March 12th 2019 by Bookouture



Goodreads synopsis:
Fans of Cathy Bramley, Debbie Johnson and Jenny Colgan will fall in love with the Cosy Kettle café, where slices of lemon meringue pie are served in the sun-dappled garden – and where Callie’s new beginning collides with an old flame… 

After yet another failed romance, twenty-six-year-old Callie Fulbright is giving up on love. She’s determined to throw all her efforts into her very own, brand-new café: The Cosy Kettle. Serving hot tea, cherry tarts and a welcoming smile to the friendly locals proves to be the perfect distraction, and Callie feels a flush of pride at the fledging business she’s built. 

But her new-found confidence is soon put to the test when her gorgeous ex reappears in the quaint little village. She’ll never forget the heartache Noah caused her years ago, but when they bump into each other on the cobbled streets of Honeyford she can’t help but feel a flutter in her chest… 

As Callie and Noah share laughter and memories, she starts to wonder if this could be her second chance at happiness. But when Callie discovers that someone is mysteriously trying to ruin the café’s reputation… she has an awful suspicion that Noah knows who’s involved. 

Was she wrong to ever trust him again? And can she find out who’s behind the lies and rumors, before it’s too late for the Cosy Kettle? 

***

4 Stars

Callie’s life has been pretty mundane. She was taking care of her elderly grandfather and working at the local bookseller. Then a new lady takes over the bookshop and she is more open to Callie’s ideas. There is also a link to her past that shows up in town…. her old high school flame, Noah. Noah’s brother, Finn, has bought the manor house in town and is making it into a boutique hotel.

Callie’s boss allows her to start a new cafe inside the bookshop and this business booms. This book is about how you can learn to be your authentic self by allowing yourself to speak your mind. Callie needed to trust herself and use her voice in order to be heard and in order to discover the truth behind the misunderstandings of the past.

As a cozy mystery reader, it took me until almost the end to realize there wasn’t a murder in this book. I am not sure why I thought this was a cozy mystery but I did indeed enjoy the light-hearted interactions between the characters and the British setting was a refreshing and wonderful touch.

Definitely check out this book if you are looking for a British-style contemporary romance. It was a really fun ride.


I received this as an ARC (Advanced Reader Copy) in return for an honest review. I thank NetGalley, the publisher and the author for allowing me to read this title.

No comments:

Post a Comment