BSBD Header

BSBD Header

Wednesday, May 1, 2019

Gone in the Night (Alex Devlin) by Mary-Jane Riley



Gone in the Night (Alex Devlin)

Kindle Edition
Expected publication: May 3rd 2019 by Killer Reads



Amazon synopsis:
A twisty and compelling thriller perfect for fans of C L Taylor, K L Slater and B A Paris.
Some secrets are deadly…

When the victim of a car crash begs journalist Alex Devlin for help before disappearing without trace, Alex finds herself caught up in a mystery that won’t let her go.

Determined to find the missing man, she is soon investigating a conspiracy that threatens some of the most vulnerable members of society.

But will Alex be prepared to put her own life on the line to help those who can’t help themselves?


***

4 Stars

When I started this book I was confused. The first three chapters focused on each introducing a different situation. And I wondered what these three characters had to do with one other and if I could easily follow what was going on.

Around chapter five I found the storylines converging and then it made so much more sense to me. So, don’t give up on reading this one if you get confused in the beginning. The main character started to pull forward and we followed Alex most of the time through the trials of the book only occasionally waffling toward Cora and her missing homeless brother, Rick.

I am not sure any normal person would have gone to such an extent to find Rick after he went missing, Even his sister didn’t go to such lengths. I found it a little unbelievable that there were so many bad guys in this one town. I mean, really? It really felt like a hopeless situation. 

This book really made me feel all the feels. And the dramatic ending is just one OMG moment after another. I may have started out unsure of this book but it gave it all to me by the end. It is a great book. Psychological thriller, suspense and mystery all combined in a great tale.


I received this as an ARC (Advanced Reader Copy) in return for an honest review. I thank NetGalley, the publisher and the author for allowing me to read this title.

No comments:

Post a Comment