BSBD Header

BSBD Header

Friday, May 1, 2020

Booked for Death (Booklovers B&B Mysteries #1) by Victoria Gilbert


Booked for Death

Hardcover, 320 pages
Expected publication: June 9th 2020 by Crooked Lane Books




Goodreads synopsis: 
From the critically acclaimed author of SIBA Okra Pick A Murder for the Books, Victoria Gilbert embarks with a new series for perfect for fans of Kate Carlisle and Juliet Blackwell.

A book lover's B&B in an idyllic waterfront village becomes the scene of a grisly murder--and a ruthless battle between treachery and the truth.

Nestled in the historic waterfront town of Beaufort, North Carolina, Chapters Bed-and-Breakfast is a reader's paradise. Built in 1770, the newly renovated inn hosts a roster of special events celebrating books, genres, and authors. It's the perfect literary retreat--until a rare book dealer turns up dead in the carriage house during a celebration of Golden Age mystery author Josephine Tey.

The victim's daughter points the finger at forty-two-year-old widow and former schoolteacher Charlotte Reed, who inherited the B&B from her great-aunt Isabella. Charlotte is shocked to discover that the book dealer suspected Isabella of being a thief who founded Chapters on her ill-gotten gains. Charlotte has successfully learned the B&B business in a year, but nothing has prepared her to handle a death on the premises.

Armed with intelligence and courage and assisted by her vibrant older neighbor, a visiting author, and members of a local book club, Charlotte is determined to prove her innocence and to clear her great-aunt's name. But the murderer is still at large, and equally determined to silence anyone who might discover the truth behind the book dealer's death. Now, Charlotte must outwit an unknown killer--or end up writing her own final chapter.


***

4.25 Stars 

This is the first book in the Booklovers B&B mystery series by Victoria Gilbert.

This book has a charming cast and setting. Everything about it is on point. The mystery / whodunit is nice. It kept my interest the entire way through. There are appropriate things going on in the plot like people threatening the protagonist in order to ruin their lives but I just didn’t connect too well with the overall story. I am not sure why or what was missing. I guess it is just that elusive ‘it’ factor. It could just be me and I am overthinking the whole thing.

The basic premise: During a literary retreat, a man is killed. He was a rare book dealer who didn’t seem quite on the up and up. I kept waiting for him to come and steal Charlotte’s Aunt Isabella’s rare book collection. Instead he bought the big one. Of course, he didn’t leave this big blue marble without threatening to reveal Charlotte’s aunt’s secret… whatever that was. Charlotte had no clue. Lots of old time revelations here. Lots going on in the past that effects the future here. At least four characters had hidden agenda or was living a sort of double life. 

I mean, it really was an interesting story and concept. I am looking forward to reading more books as the series progresses.

If you want to read a good cozy mystery, definitely check this one out. You won’t be disappointed.


I received this as an ARC (Advanced Reader Copy) in return for an honest review. I thank NetGalley, the publisher and the author for allowing me to read this title.

No comments:

Post a Comment