BSBD Header

BSBD Header

Monday, August 10, 2020

Eva Evergreen, Semi-Magical Witch (Eva Evergreen #1) by Julie Abe


Eva Evergreen, Semi-Magical Witch

Hardcover, 400 pages
Published August 4th 2020 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers



Goodreads synopsis: 
A charming new middle-grade fantasy adventure, about a young witch whose pinch of magic just might be more than enough, perfect for fans of Kiki's Delivery Service and Aru Shah and the End of Time.

Sometimes all you need is a pinch of magic...

Eva Evergreen is determined to earn the rank of Novice Witch before she turns thirteen years old. If she doesn't, she'll lose her magic forever. For most young witches and wizards, it's a simple enough test:

ONE: Help your town, do good all around.
TWO: Live there for one moon, don't leave too soon.
THREE: Fly home by broomstick, the easiest of tricks.

The only problem? Eva only has a pinch of magic. She summons heads of cabbage instead of flowers and gets a sunburn instead of calling down rain. And to add insult to injury, whenever she overuses her magic, she falls asleep.

When she lands on the tranquil coastal town of Auteri, the residents expect a powerful witch, not a semi-magical girl. So Eva comes up with a plan: set up a magical repair shop to aid Auteri and prove she's worthy. She may have more blood than magic, but her "semi-magical fixes" repair the lives of the townspeople in ways they never could have imagined. Only, Eva's bit of magic may not be enough when the biggest magical storm in history threatens the town she's grown to love. Eva must conjure up all of the magic, bravery, and cleverness she can muster or Auteri and her dreams of becoming a witch will wash away with the storm.

***

4.75 stars

This is the first book in the Eva Evergreen series by Julie Abe.

Wow, how fun was this middle grade book. Loving this new series featuring a witch with only a pinch of magic. This reminds me a lot of Harry Potter. Oh, not in the storyline or anything but the type of person Harry is at his core. Eva is like that too. She has been looked down upon for her whole life. No one ever had her back. And now while on her novice quest, which she had to fight to receive, she learns to trust herself and what she can really do in the world. 

This will be a great inspiration for young people. This will give them hope and courage. I can’t recommend this one enough. Looking forward to book two!

If you like middle grade books, definitely check this one out. You won’t be disappointed.


I received this as an ARC (Advanced Reader Copy) in return for an honest review. I thank NetGalley, the publisher and the author for allowing me to read this title.

No comments:

Post a Comment